Sunday, October 30, 2011

Spotlight on David Whitehead’s Latest Western eBooks.

David Whitehead

Prolific writer and good friend, David Whitehead AKA Ben Bridges and several other pseudonyms, has over the years entertained us with his unique style of writing, especially in the western genre.   

Here are four of his latest books that can be found on Amazon which are definitely worth reading and great value for money.  

The Texas Rangers sent Carter O’Brien south of the border with orders to kill a madman. It was said that his target—a murderous bandit named Salazar—had the face of an angel and the heart of a demon. Certainly, judging by all he’d heard, O’Brien sure figured he needed killing. Given the choice, though, he’d sooner have faced Salazar in a head-on gunfight than turn back-shooter and kill him from hiding.
But the only trouble with that idea lay with Salazar’s eight-strong gang of cut-throats, for it was common knowledge that if you took on one of them, you took on the lot—and even a professional fighting man like O’Brien had to draw the line somewhere ...

With the promise of $10,000 still ringing in his ears, professional fighting man Carter O’Brien rode south to free Aaron Norris, a big-shot politician who’d been framed for murder. But it wasn’t going to be easy. Norris was being held in a prison nearly two hundred miles from home, and it was a veritable fortress that had been built right on the doorstep of a garrison full of Mexican soldiers.
As if that wasn’t bad enough, there were others who’d set their sights on the reward — two get-rich-quick Americans named Pope and Trace, and a half-Cheyenne Dog Soldier called Sundown.
As they all came together, the dry Mexican air was shattered by the roar of dynamite and the higher, deadly whine of bullets ...

All Kate Whitney had to do to put Senator George Copperday away for life was take the witness stand and tell the court everything she knew. But if something happened to prevent her from giving evidence — like a well-aimed bullet for example — Copperday would go free.
The beautiful target desperately needed protection, and it came in the form of Judge Wilde’s secret army of crime-busters, ‘The Wilde Boys’, six of the toughest — and most unlikely — law-enforcers ever to slap leather.
But what should have been a routine mission turned into something far more deadly when Copperday hired a pack of vicious killers. Soon the Wilde boys were pitting both wits and weapons against the would-be assassins in a last-ditch attempt to keep Kate alive. But in the final bloody showdown, who would live and who would die?

David and his long time collaborator, Steve Hayes have come up with a great new western series, the Kincannons. The first book, ‘COMES A STRANGER,’ can be found at Amazon as a Kindle edition or directly from Follow the link below. 

Comes a Stranger (Kincannon)

He was a stranger till he came to the aid of the four Kincannons. Then Ben Lawless became the best friend Mercy, Cinnamon, Caleb and Jonah could have wished for. But that was only the beginning for the Kincannons. When Cinnamon went missing the others had to grow up fast if they were to find and save her. Together with Lawless and an enigmatic old Lakota warrior called Shadow Wolf, they set out on an epic quest ... and a blood-soaked showdown that none of them could have foreseen.

I’m also pleased to announce the second book from the mini-series, ‘The Deputy,’ by George G. Gilman is now on sale at Amazon. 
NEWS FLASH!  ‘THE LONER’ & ‘TEN GRAND’ from the first series of Edge will be launched within the next two weeks.


Tuesday, October 18, 2011

The Return of a Man Called, EDGE!

I’m thrilled to announce that Terry Harknett, aka George G. Gilman and I, have come to an agreement to release the unpublished mini series of his infamous character, Edge as an eBook for Amazon's Kindle. The first, ‘The Quiet Gun,’ is now available. If you’re not familiar with Edge, I would strongly encourage you to go out and get a copy. You won’t be disappointed and you’ll certainly want to read more.
Terry, like most of us would love to see the Western Genre back where it belongs … on top. He wholeheartedly supports the idea of the Rope and Wire Short Stories Series which can only strengthen the genre’s appeal to the media.
Upcoming titles:
The Quiet Gun.
The Deputy.
The Outrage.
Killing Time in Eternity.
Return to Massacre Mesa.
Name on the Bullet.

His original Edge series which consists of sixty one books have stood the test of time, and are well sought after today, #61 being the hardest to find. The last one I ever saw was being auctioned on eBay and went for almost $300. If like me, you have read any of the Edge books you will know what I’m talking about. I think Terry was writing in a style well advanced for his time. And that is why if you read one of his novels today, you’d swear it had only been written yesterday.

Terry Harknett (born 1936) is a British author. He is author of almost 200 books, mostly pulp novels in the western and crime genres. He has written as a ghostwriter for Peter Haining and under an array of pseudonyms, George G. Gilman, Joseph Hedges, William M. James, Charles R. Pike, Thomas H. Stone, Frank Chandler, Jane Harman, Alex Peters, William Pine, William Terry, James Russell and David Ford. Some bibliographies list Adam Hardy as one of Harknett's pseudonyms, in fact a nom de plume of Kenneth Bulmer. This is an error resulting from incorrect copyright information printed in one of the Edge westerns.
He has written a number of series including:
  • Steve Wayne (9 books under his own name)
  • Crown (3 books under his own name)
  • Edge (61 books as George G. Gilman)
  • Adam Steele (49 books as George G. Gilman)
  • Edge Meets Adam Steele (3 books as George G. Gilman)
  • The Undertaker (6 books as George G. Gilman)
  • The Revenger (12 books as Joseph Hedges)
  • Apache (27 books as William M. James)
  • Jubal Cade (3 books as Charles R. Pike)
  • Chester Fortune (5 books as Thomas H. Stone)
Harknett's westerns have been identified as an influence by authors including Robert J. Randisi and Peter Brandvold.

 Look Out For the Next Two Books In This Series. 
Coming Soon!